Smart on the Internet(1)

Smart on the Internet is my round-up of things I find smart, fascinating, note-worthy, or fun on the internet.

Smart on the Internet

I’ve been thinking a lot about emotional labor lately, because of the post on The Toast. I’ve actually been wrestling with the idea a great amount. I’m not sure I follow the writer to all her conclusions exactly, but I definitely agree with the premise. I’m not in a relationship, but looking back at my life growing up and I realize how all the “emotional labor” rested with the women in my family. There’s also a very long thread on metafilter about the concept, which I found just as enlightening as the article itself.

There is a Tumblr blog called Masculinity is ~so~ fragile and it’s pretty much making my internet life right now. I find ridiculous gendering of inanimate objects well, ridiculous, so it holds a special place in my heart, especially because I always think it’s funny when guys say things like “I’m secure enough in my masculinity to. . .(enter X here)”. I joked about this on twitter a few months ago and how I wanted to start saying that I’m “secure enough in my femininity” to do things like read fantasy with SWORDS, love the color blue, and use men’s shaving cream.

Sookie St James on Gilmore Girls was a very important character to me growing up, so I’m glad she’s getting recognized for it even years after the show has ended. I remember how it felt to see a character who looked LIKE ME, who was not “Hollywood plus size” but ACTUALLY plus size get her own story lines and was not a punchline for jokes in a show that made jokes *all* the time.

Bust has a list of 10 Lady Podcasts you should listen to right now, which of course I found because of my recent obsession with Call Your Girlfriend(and I’m sure this list is older, but I found it recently, so on the link round-up it goes!). I haven’t tried any of the ones listed, but I do have a few episodes of Nerdette downloaded.

I don’t have a lot to say about this article on having a perfect wedding while being a fat bride, but that’s because it felt like such an emotional read that sharing too many of my thoughts almost feels sacrilegious. Even though sometimes the whole sphere of romance tends to pass me by, I couldn’t help but feel warmed by this. Bravo, Lindy West.

In more depressing news, the future of work pretty much sucks, and I often feel like I’m living this now. It sounds so cliche, I know, but: the struggle is real. I mean, it really, truly is. It’s disheartening.

I would say to nobody’s surprise, but I think people *are* surprised–there’s sexist bias in the literary world. An author queries under her name, gets minimal response. Changes to a male name, and the responses are much more positive. I know this isn’t a perfect experiment, because the variables(agents themselves) changed when the author changed her name, but it is still pretty telling all the same.

This month’s oldie but goodie choice:

How to Apply Lipstick Perfectly(Like a Pro) from She’s in the Glow. My lipstick game has improved at least 80% since using this method. I never thought I was *bad* at lipstick before, but this gave me such better results. Bit of a learning curve, but the practice is half the fun, right? Since then I’ve ventured into sort of tweaking this a bit(I use eyelid primer instead of foundation, for example), but this is the post that really taught me first.

Leave a Reply

