Smart on the Internet(2)

Smart on the Internet is my round-up of things I find smart, fascinating, note-worthy, or fun on the internet.

Smart on the Internet

I almost stopped reading this article about how the idea of “do what you love” in regards to work is in many ways a corporate rip-off because it was so depressing. . . but then it started intersecting with the idea that this myth targets women in particular and how traditional “women’s work” fields get hit the hardest.

Judging by the stats, being intersex isn’t that rare, just invisible, and people are started to ask if doctors should assign sex at birth to those born intersex–something that’s common but increasingly challenged.

This article about “the makeup tax” touched on something I had never really thought about before. I do like makeup(sometimes), but. . . yeah, I can see where the “makeup tax” comes in.

Ever considered taking marriage advice from divorced people? I never really thought about it before, but I can see how having a marriage that ended would make you more tuned-in to how marriages can go wrong. I remember learning in my Marriage & the Family class in undergrad that statistically, if you get divorced you’re more likely to get divorced again, but at the same time, it’s important to remember that’s not a marriage death sentence.

Like the rest of the internet, I watched the Wildest Dream music video. Not sure if I liked it or not, but I did like the song(yes, I hadn’t heard it before).  Why are women angry? Mostly because of exhaustion. Those little things add up.

I’ve had this article saved about the lost colony of Roanoke for weeks because I LOVE learning stuff about the lost colony and I wanted to devote my time to reading it.

Leave a Reply

